Inventor 2022 – Instance Properties – Follow Up!

Hello again!

Very rare for me to post twice this close together! This is a good topic, I think, and to answer a question I received last week, I decided to do this follow up to show at least one example of how these instance properties might look on your 2D drawings, and in your parts list. No video this time… sorry.

To demonstrate this, I created (as a branch of my ever growing demo assembly) a simple manifold, with 4 hand valves. This could be something like an instrument air header, for example. Each of these valves is the exact same model, placed “As Standard” from the Content Center, so they are not unique part files, but copies of one part file. Using the same technique I showed in the last post’s video, I gave each of these valves a Tag number, which would match the Tag number for that valve on my Piping & Instrumentation Diagram. This is important to note, as one of my hopes for this tool was that it could be used to help field service technicians locate a very specific valve as part of trouble shooting issues on a machine or in a utility line.

I then threw together a very quick detail drawing of this line segment, focusing on labeling, not dimensions. I wanted to see, and show what the ballooning would look like. What I found in the BOM, under the Part Number Row Merge Settings, is that there is now a check box for Merge Instance Rows. If you want to be able to show each instance of a part, such as my valves, leave this box Unchecked, when Merge Rows is Checked. This will allow the main part of your BOM to “roll up” part numbers, while leaving your instances standing alone for better tagging in the drawing.

In the screen shot at the bottom of this post, I placed a parts list sorted on Item or index number, and placed balloons on my valves. Each valve, even though they are the same part and part number, received a unique balloon value. I also added a text note to show the Tag number. I wanted to see how adding this instance property would look. As it turns out the Type used is Custom iProperties, which isn’t too surprising, but not what I expected…. so I’m glad I looked! So, I selected the Type, the Source (one of the valves), and the Property and then the “down arrow” at the end of the line (the one with the parameter symbol on it), and dropped Tag into the text window.

Knowing this, it would be possible to create a custom Balloon style that shows the Tag value instead of the Index number, if that is what you prefer. I showed both, just to show some of what is possible. So, here is the drawing screen shot… as promised. As I play with this more, or if I get more questions… I will post even more in the near future.

Enjoy!!


Leave a comment