Autodesk University 2015 Las Vegas – Day 1


Good morning!  It’s that time again.  I’m beginning my journey to Las Vegas for that annual gathering of Autodesk software users, resellers, educators, developers, Autodesk employees…. nearly 10,00 people all gathered in one spot to talk about how things are made.  And as I have for the last few years, I am going to write about this Autodesk University from my experience of it.  Not being press, I will be covering the events, classes and parties that I go to, not the conference as a whole.

Unlike previous years, however, I am not going to publish one continuous running post that I add to every day.  I think it just gets to be too much to follow…. for you AND for me.  So this year I am going to break it up into days, and my experiences of that day.  As I start this post, I know that today will be less than exciting.  I’m at the airport way too early…. as usual.  So early in fact that TSA won’t even let me through screening yet.  It’s a small airport…. very small.

mbs

 

DSC_2416

The entire terminal, 6 Gates, of MBS International Airport

This first leg will take me to Detroit International Airport, where I have an exciting 3 hour layover.  Maybe there will be some football on one of the TV screens.

4:00 and sitting at gate A68 at Detroit International Airport.  There is football, but…. Minnesota Vikings?  Oh well, Lions don’t play today because they played on Thanksgiving (and won!).  I almost made it onto an earlier connection, one that was getting ready to board at the gate just 2 down from where my first flight deplaned.  My freind and fellow blogger/AU Presenter/Expert Elite, Sam Lucido was there.  I would have been willing to pay the upcharge if not for the fact that my checked bag would not have made it to Vegas until my originally scheduled landing time.  I decided to just wait it out, and get something to eat.  A nice healthy dinner of bacon cheeseburger and cheese fries at the Coney Island… that should hold me until I get there, right?

Last leg of the flights is over, no issues other than just being long.  So, after grabbing my bags and taking one of the more frightening cab rides I’ve ever had, I am now checked in at the Venetian.  It’s too late to register for the conference so I’ll have to do that in the morning.  My room is quite nice and has a view of the giant ferris wheel.

DSC_2422

DSC_2423

After checking in and getting settled for a bit, I wandered aimlessly through the Grande Canal Shoppes looking for the Double Helix bar, where a group of us who are Autodesk Vault users had arranged to meet up for a drink.  My body is still on Eastern Time, so by the time the group breaks up at 11:00…. I think it’s 2:00 am.  Long day, but I am happy to be here, ready to go and learn, and ready to share it with all of you.  See you all tomorrow!

Enjoy!

About

CAD Department Supervisor at Powell Fabrication & Manufacturing, Inc. CAD Designer & Detailer specializing in Inventor Tube & Pipe, Frame Generator, Content Center, Vault Professional. Autodesk Expert Elite member. Blogger. AU 2014 Speaker. Husband and father.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Autodesk Community, Autodesk University, General, Show All

Leave a Reply

Post Archive
Follow me on Twitter
CADproTips

Providing the CAD knowledge you need to succeed.

The CAD Setter Out

AutoCAD and Inventor Tips, Tricks & Tutorials.

Design & Motion

Design and Manufacturing solutions through Digital Prototyping and Interoperability

CADToolbox.com

Dedicated to the Autodesk Inventor Community

