DWF creation on Vault check in, how to set your preferences.

Originally Published 7/3/2014

I saw this post last week linked on Twitter.  Kudos to David Gates at Cadline Community.  This went right along with a problem I was experiencing with Vault® 2015, that I had not seen in Vault 2013.

In Vault 2013 I set my visualization file preferences so that my drawing visualizations would be created 11″ x 17″ (ANSI “B” size), plotted to extents from paper space layouts from AutoCad® and full sheets from Inventor® drawing sets, black and white… no colors.  I have Vault set up to create my visualizations on check in, with no Job Processor in the mix.  When I upgraded to Vault 2015 I checked my settings, and they had migrated perfectly… as expected.

Vault Visualization Settings – 2015

My Inventor visualizations continued to be created as they had been, but suddenly my AutoCad visualizations were giving me full color, model space.  So what had changed?

I logged a case with Tech Support at Autodesk®, and described the problem.  The tech who took the case was trying to talk me through some changes in the DWG TrueView® drawing called TrueViewSetup.dwg.  He was walking me through changes in the publish command, the export command… none of it was making any difference.

Then I saw the Cadline post on Twitter, and had a bit of an epiphany.  The steps outlined in this post, applied to this TrueViewSetup.dwg might just make the difference.  The problem was, there are 5 of them spread throughout the installation of Product Design Suite.  Which one do I edit?

I settled on one in this path (may be slightly different on your systems): C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Vault Professional 2015\Explorer  But, when I edited the page view setup in this drawing using DWG True View, as outlined in the Cadline post, I found I could not save the file.  Well, I had been told to make these changes using DWG True View.  Obviously this was not going to work.  So I opened the file using regular Autocad, edited the page view setup, and saved the file.  Voila, since that my Vault visualizations have (so far) been working exactly as expected.  So simple, but I had to combine ideas from tech support and a blog post to make it all come together.  Thanks again to David Gates at Cadline for pointing me in the right direction.

Enjoy!

“Autodesk ® screen shots reprinted with the permission of Autodesk, Inc.  Autodesk ® , AutoCAD ® , DWG, the DWG logo, Vault ®, Autocad Electrical ® and Inventor ® are registered trademarks or trademarks of Autodesk, Inc., and/or its subsidiaries and/or affiliates in the USA and other countries.”  Programs and programmers’ information used with permission.  Thanks guys!

 

About

CAD Department Supervisor at Powell Fabrication & Manufacturing, Inc. CAD Designer & Detailer specializing in Inventor Tube & Pipe, Frame Generator, Content Center, Vault Professional. Autodesk Expert Elite member. Blogger. AU 2014 Speaker. Husband and father.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Autodesk Vault, Show All

Leave a Reply

Post Archive
Follow me on Twitter
CADproTips

Providing the CAD knowledge you need to succeed.

The CAD Setter Out

AutoCAD and Inventor Tips, Tricks & Tutorials.

Design & Motion

Design and Manufacturing solutions through Digital Prototyping and Interoperability

CADToolbox.com

Dedicated to the Autodesk Inventor Community

